Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

Where's good in Jan

Posted by Mike 
Mike
Where's good in Jan
18 July '07 | 10:51pm
Hi,

I've been windsurfing for a few months and I'm totally addicted!!! Finally cracked the water start and I'm getting into the harness and straps - working on staying upwind now, to save on those long walks back to my launch area.

Going to Hurghada in September where I hope to crack the gybe.

Also looking to do a whole month away in Jan and looking for some suggestions.

Good wind

Mike
Mike Paterson
Re: Where's good in Jan
19 July '07 | 9:34am
Langebaan outside Cape Town www.capesports.co.za for reliable winds and flat water and is a great place to stay / chill out. It is also 1 hour 15 from Cape Town and this is a great city for food, partying, amazing looking women plus there are flat water places to sail near the town - Milnerton Lake being one of them for beginners. Cape Town can be VERY windy but you will learn lots and you can get inspired by the wave sailers at Sunset Beach etc or take on the might of the waves if feeling brave. Flyglobespan have reasonable flights from Manchester plus major carriers and cost of living is at least half of UK. Good luck and glad you are loving windsurfing - great sport.
Mike
21 July '07 | 5:47pm
Thanks Mike,

I was looking into South Africa, but I'm a bit paraniod about all the sharks out there.

Are these fears justified or am I just being a pussy?

Mike
Mike Paterson
23 July '07 | 10:11am