Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

new mast

Posted by Tom 
Tom
new mast
13 November '07 | 11:08pm
Hi,

I'm thinking of buying a new mast. I currently have a 430 arrows lance with 10% Carbon. The reason I'm thinking of buying a new one is mostly based on an article of Guy Cribb (http://www.guycribb.com/userfiles/documents/Mast%20Debating.pdf).

The problem is; i'm a student from the netherlands, which basically means i have no money. Fortunately there are a lot of secondhand masts on the market. I found an Xcellerator 80% for 100 euros. The guy who sells it doesn't know from what year it is. I searched the internet for a long time and the only thing i could conclude is that it is from before 2001. I don't know if this is a problem. I actually don't know what to look for on a mast apart from the percentage carbon and the weight.

Any advise is welcome, thx!

Tom.
Tom
Re: new mast
13 November '07 | 11:48pm
PS: a picture can be found here:
Dennis
14 November '07 | 10:23am
Hi

I understand your problem with the masts.
However getting the right mast for your sail is all important. Each sail brand has their own bendcurve and stiffness. So each sail will be designed to that curve and stiffness.
Ex. Neilpryde masts are Constant curve (cc) but are very stiff in the lower part and the softer in the top. North also cc is softer in the bottom but also in the top.
The best thing you can do is to get the right brand of mast to your sail and then naturally go for a good procentage of carbon. It will give you a better flex and softer feel. You will without a doubt get more preformance from you sail!!
James
14 November '07 | 10:52am
Boards did a test on masts a few months back and you can find the article here

[www.boards.co.uk]

Which makes intresting reading on the intercompatability or not of different mast and sail brands.