Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

Wrist support?

Posted by romy 
Wrist support?
16 April '10 | 10:39pm
Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the sport, only sailed for about a year, but almost straight from the start I got a sore wrist after each sail. It stays painful for about three weeks before getting better, but I rarely give it that long to recover anyhow. At least when I'm on the water adrenalin makes me forget about it completely... haha.

I'm thinking I'll probably just have to live with it, but was wondering if anyone else has the same problem? If so, has anyone found any sort of device to support weak wrists? Straps etc.?

First I thought it was because of the countless times I had to haul myself back onto the board after falling in, but these days I only waterstart, so no more drastic bending of the old wrist. Other reasons I could think of are a) the fact that I'm a chick of pretty light build - could the forces just be too much for my bones?
and b) that said wrist had a fracture about twenty years ago.

Any other ideas? Wrist-strengthening exercises? Supplements or healing balms that have worked for you?

Any tips would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
Tom
Re: Wrist support?
17 April '10 | 2:57am
Is it the wrist itself that hurts or the forearm, cus i get the forearm sometimes, rarely do i get the wrists...only ever had it bad after a full day of sailing on a 420 in nuclear conditions and holding the main sheet in a bad angle, is there anything that you of this sort?? as for the injury, did you ever let it heal properly? and, is there anything you do, like rarely using the harness even in planning conditions that could put lots of stress on that wrist, maybe your harness lines are positioned too far forward or backward??
hope you find a cure to your aches!
Tom