Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites
WINDSURFING!
Advice on using a smaller board
26 March '11 | 10:55am
Hi,
I have been windsurfing for just over 6 months, and recently i have got a 90 litre freestyle wave which is big step down from my old 135 litre freeride.

I was at a level where i was planing out of my carve gybes and water starting on my big freeride. But last weekend i went out on my new board and found that water starting it was quite hard and the board kept turning into wind. At 68 kg it still has some float but i found it quite a challenge how long will it take me to get used to this board ?? And any tips on why i found it hard to water start?? Also i found this board near impossible to up haul??

Thanks for any advice
Re: Advice on using a smaller board
26 March '11 | 1:47pm
i recently did the same, i moved from a 130 litre freeride to a 96 fsw.
I noticed that you need to be powered up, going out in <15knots isn't really an option( unless you have amazing technique) and uphauling is a nightmare..
26 March '11 | 2:49pm
The board turning into wind is very common when moving down onto smaller boards. When waterstarting,try and push down into the board with your front hand so the mast foot pressure is on, this should help you keep your board across the wind when your water starting,(remember though, when waterstarting in stronger winds it not a bad thing having the nose of your board more upwind than across!) If your finding that it turns into the wind alot when your up and going then its probably that your being a little bit to heavy on your back foot because your used to having a bigger fin on your freeride kit, try and push more through your front foot and come of the side of the board with your body not the back.
And your up hauling will come with time.

Hope this helps,

Ric