Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

Advice!!

Posted by new to wavesailing 
new to wavesailing
Advice!!
20 June '11 | 11:40am
Hi i have been windsurfing for about 9 months once a week. I can plane out of my gybe on big freeride kit 130litre but have recently started using an 85 litre quatro freewave 2008 . I find this alot harder to gybe for some reason however have just started going out in the waves with it and it is great fun to jump. Would aprreciate any tips on gybing on a smaller board. I also find tacking it alot harder on it? Also any tips on making heli tacks would be aprreciated to!!!
Thanks
Jan
Re: Advice!!
20 June '11 | 9:08pm
Gotta gybe much faster with no hesitation and make sure You do it technically good. Don't overpressure Your back leg as it will slow Your board and make the tail sink. You gotta do as few moves as possible and keep Your feet close to the center of the board. Hope that helped. What is most important is training. The more You jibe the better You get winking smiley You can also ask a friend to film You during jibing and compare to some schooling videos. Videocoaching is one of the most underrestimated methods of teaching. 3 years ago I managed to teach to windsurf an italian guy who knew like 10 words in english! Keep surfin dude!
davidn
Re: Advice!!
21 June '11 | 8:47am
Some tips on the helitack I put on our local forum in scotland at:-

David

[www.sailrepair.co.uk]

The helitack is a truly wonderful move. Its enjoyable and useful. Its mentally and physically challenging. It has regular and clew first elements to it. It also involves backwinded and frontwinded (ie normal) sailing.
In summary, its a true “Yin and yang” manoever with lashings of feng shui thrown in.