Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

What sailsize to what wind conditions

Posted by Ernest 
Ernest
What sailsize to what wind conditions
23 August '11 | 10:57pm
Hello!

As I am new to windsurfing it is pretty hard to rig the right sail to the appropriate wind.
So far I do have four sails 5.9, 5.4, 4.7 and 4.2. In what wind conditions (bft?) should I rig each of them?

Thanks you

Ernest.
WindSURFINg
Re: What sailsize to what wind conditions
24 August '11 | 7:18pm
Totally depends on your weight and the board you are using but as a guide i am 62 kilos and would use a 5.9 in about 12-14 knots mid force four on a large earlier planning board (130 litres) but 14-16 knots on a high wind board top end of a four. i would use a 5.4 in 14-17 knots on a large early planning board (top end of Four foing into force 5) but 16-21 knots on ahigh wind board (right the way through force 5) . I would use a 4.7 only on a high wind board from about 22 knots to about 27 knots ( right the way through force 6) above this and i would use a 4.2 (force 7) on a high wind board until i was totally overpowered. (never been out in more than 30 knots so ... dunno when i would change down from a 4.2. have a look at some sail size calculators they should give you a guide.
Ernest
25 August '11 | 2:21pm
Thanks for the reply, I weigh ~80kg. What could you recomend me?
davebosnia
25 August '11 | 4:07pm
this is roughly what I'd use these sizes for and would expect to be fully powerd up! I'm about 78kgs,

5.9 20 knots
5.4 20-25 knots
4.7 25-30 knots
4.2 30 knots up

this is only a guide, if you have a weather station near where you sail check how windy it was when you were out so you know for next time to rig bigger or smaller

hope this helps.... enjoy
dgwave73
25 August '11 | 4:40pm