Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites
2011 Starboard Carve 121ltr
5 May '12 | 2:46pm
Bought my 1st of 2 new boards this year 2011 121 Starboard Carve Technora
Got to sail it with a 7.4 yesterday in some flat to small 2 ft chop for 1 hour.
I am no expert and have only rode a few boards in my years of sailing buy here is what I thought that first hour.
I am 56 yrs old weigh 235lbs with wetsuit on, the 121 ltr floated me well right off the top and seem to get up and plane ok , compared to my last board I was replacing my HI Fly Madd 115 twin fin which by the way I really like so it will take a lot to get me thrilled with the Carve.
So rode it for 1 hour turned very nice and seemed to do just about anything you wanted in the turns from a slower turn to a more sharp on a dime turn which was nice.
It also seemed to handle what chop there was pretty good, go upwind not a problem down wind too, here in the "Gorge" USA you seem to sail down wind a lot cause the river is pushing you upwind.
Speed was average not a big concern of mine I just like to have fun, and when I learn more about the board I am sure it will go faster than yesterday.
My only draw back that I could tell was that it did not feel as "active or squirrely"
as I wanted, the foot straps were place inboard for the rep. told me that would be the spot to get the most response from the board.
of course I had a 7.4 sail on which is kind of heavy and cumbersome.
So all in all a good board, I read all the tests the past couple of weeks and I felt it tested the best and the Carves had a good reputation in the past and that is why I went with it. Cost was 1400 US dollars.
My next board will be a RRD 2012 102ltr FSW which should be much more active.
Re: 2011 Starboard Carve 121ltr
17 May '12 | 4:19am