Hello, welcome to Boardseeker Windsurfing Magazine please use the links below to jump to a specific section.

Navigation Search Content Other Mpora Sites

harness line length

Posted by pcc 
pcc
harness line length
6 October '09 | 7:55pm
Hi. Just started windsurfing a few months ago and about to get a harness to help me progress. Question is: what's the best way to work out the length required? Also, if I understand the books OK, as I progress, I may need to move the footstraps further out and back - does this mean I will need to get longer lines? Are lines adjustable?
All help appreciated - I am still a rookie but keen to learn.
Regards
Pete
Re: harness line length
6 October '09 | 10:41pm
what length harness lines you need is a debate that has gone on for ages. some people say that the length is found by putting your hand on the boom, in between the line and then putting your elbow down in to the line, if your forearm just fits in, then that's the right length. whether that works or not, i don't know. i'd say get some adjustable ones and see what works for you.

you can get adjustable harness lines no problem, the best might be to get some that adjust from 24 to 30 inch lines. it's debatable which length range is best, but i'd say you'd be on safe ground if you got some that length. Dakine make nice ones, but so do lots of other makes, just get some that don't slip, that is rubbish and often the problem with adjustable lines. as a guide, i sail on 32" lines, and i am pretty middle of the road, some people have longer, a lot of people have shorter, depends on your style.